Commission on Ministry 2019 Annual Report The Diocese of Central Pennsylvania

The Commission on Ministry serves to provide advice and counsel to the Bishop on all matters pertaining to the ordination process. The Commission also assists the Bishop in the formation of those members of our diocese who are called to both lay and ordained ministries. Members of the Commission are appointed by the Bishop and serve three-year terms. The present membership of the Commission includes in the lay order: Mr. Larry Alexander, Dr. Bruce Johnson (Co-Vice Chair), Mrs. Terri Johnsen, Mrs. Sarah Reid, Mrs. Mary Novello, and Mr. William Lord. In the clerical order: The Rev. Canon Nelson Kuli Baliira, The Rev. Gene Tucker, The Rev. Regina Bautista, The Rev. Carenda Baker (Co-Vice Chair), and, ex officio, The Ven. Jane Miron. The Rev. Brenda Taylor, Deacon, moved away during the course of this year. The Bishop serves as the Chair of the Commission.

The Commission meetings are held monthly. The Commission also conducts a winter retreat in which all Postulants and Candidates participate. The Co-Vice-Chairs of the Commission meet with the Bishop on a regular basis. Members of the Commission are appointed to serve as "companions" for Postulants and Candidates as they make their way through the ordination process.

This year members of the Commission have joined with members of the Standing Committee and staff from the Stevenson School for Ministry to explore ways to enhance the processes of spiritual formation and academic preparation for those called to ordained and lay ministry within our diocese. This is an on-going initiative that will continue in the year ahead.

The following actions were taken by the Bishop since the 2018 Annual Convention:

Ordained to the Priesthood: Asa Coulson

Jim Robertson Shayna Watson

Ordained to Transitional Diaconate: Kyle Murphy

Commission on Ministry 2019 Annual Report Page Two

Accepted as Postulant: Kevin Barron

Allison Carnahan Bradley Mattson

Alyssa Pasternak-Post

Will Robbins

Accepted as Candidate: Stacy Catigano

Donna Jody Barthle

These others are also in the Ordination Process, in care of the COM:

Martha Harris, Postulant Lynn Johnson, Postulant Susan Sanders, Postulant

Respectfully submitted, The Rev. Carenda Baker and Dr. Bruce H. Johnson Co-Vice Chairs of the Commission on Ministry