Commission on Ministry Annual Report 10/1/2023 – 9/30/2024

The Commission on Ministry serves to provide advice and counsel to the Bishop on all matters pertaining to the ordination process. The Commission also assists the Bishop in the formation of those members of our diocese who are called to both lay and ordained ministries. The Bishop is the President of the Commission. Present membership includes five priests, two deacons, and six lay persons. Commission meetings are held on the second Tuesday of the month. The Vice Presidents of the Commission meet with the Bishop on a regular basis. Members of the Commission serve as "companions" for Postulants and Candidates as they make their way through the ordination process.

This year the Commission held a total of 21 interviews. During this time, the Commission implemented a new process for an Individual Formation Plan which is to be regularly updated by the person in discernment as they move through the ordination process. It is reviewed by the Commission prior to our interviews so we may be better informed regarding specifics of their development and is shared with the Standing Committee prior to their interview with the person.

We have clarified the process and competencies required for lay licensed ministry and have launched this process with the diocese this year.

The following actions were taken by the Bishop since the 2023 Annual Convention:

Ordained to the Priesthood: Martha Ambrose

Kevin Lowe Lisa Work

Ordained to the (Transitional)Diaconate: Kathy Hettinga

Lo Selles Ryan Tobin

Accepted as Candidates this year: Ford Brooks

Ivan Ruiz Swartz

Candidates previously accepted: Joe Pritchett

Accepted as Postulants this year: Emma DiPace

Postulants previous accepted: Katarina Holmgren

Respectfully submitted.

Ms. Mary Novello & The Rev. Barbara Hutchinson Vice Presidents of the Commission on Ministry