Commission on Ministry Annual Report 10/1/2022 – 9/30/2023

The Commission on Ministry serves to provide advice and counsel to the Bishop on all matters pertaining to the ordination process. The Commission also assists the Bishop in the formation of those members of our diocese who are called to both lay and ordained ministries. The Bishop is the President of the Commission. Present membership includes five priests, two deacons, and six lay persons. Commission meetings are held on the second Tuesday of the month. The Commission also conducts a winter retreat in which all Postulants and Candidates participate. The Vice Presidents of the Commission meet with the Bishop on a regular basis. Members of the Commission serve as "companions" for Postulants and Candidates as they make their way through the ordination process.

This year the Commission held a total of 17 interviews with 15 individuals. During this time, the Commission implemented a new process for an Individual Formation Plan which is to be regularly updated by the person in discernment as they move through the ordination process. It is reviewed by the Commission prior to our interviews so we may be better informed regarding specifics of their development.

This summer, after lengthy discussion and discernment, the Commission decided to test out ordaining otherwise-qualified candidates to the transitional diaconate before seminary graduation. The change should give these new deacons an opportunity for deeper formation prior to their ordination to the priesthood. We will review the change in 2024 to determine whether it should become our standard practice.

We continue to explore and clarify the process and competencies required for lay licensed ministry.

The following actions were taken by the Bishop since the 2022 Annual Convention:

Ordained to the Priesthood: Ted Christopher (12/10/2022)

Martha Harris (12/17/2023)
Jennifer Trenary (2/11/2023)
Dina Johns (7/15/2021)

Dina Ishler (7/15/2021)

Ordained to the Diaconate: Martha Ambrose (7/8/2023)

Accepted as Candidates this year: Joseph Pritchett

Candidates previously accepted: Chloe (Lo) Selles

Kevin Lowe Ryan Tobin Lisa Work

Accepted as Postulants this year: Katarina Holmgren

Ford Brooks Ivan Ruiz

Postulants previously accepted: Kathy Hettinga

Respectfully submitted,

Ms. Mary Novello & The Rev. Barbara Hutchinson Vice Presidents of the Commission on Ministry