The Diocese of Central Pennsylvania Commission on Ministry Annual Report 10/1/2021 – 9/30/2022

The Commission on Ministry serves to provide advice and counsel to the Bishop on all matters pertaining to the ordination process. The Commission also assists the Bishop in the formation of those members of our diocese who are called to both lay and ordained ministries. The Bishop is the President of the Commission. Present membership includes five priests, two deacons, and six lay persons. Commission meetings are held on the second Tuesday of the month. The Commission also conducts a winter retreat in which all Postulants and Candidates participate. The Vice Presidents of the Commission meet with the Bishop on a regular basis. Members of the Commission serve as "companions" for Postulants and Candidates as they make their way through the ordination process.

This year the Commission held a total of 20 interviews with 17 individuals. During this time, the Commission also reviewed and edited for clarity the Parish Discernment Process and the Ordination Process, resulting in a Workbook for Discernment Committees, and Outline for Ordination, which can be found on COM's page of the Diocesan website. We also learned about the new Spiritual Formation Plan for those being formed through the Stevenson School for Ministry by The Rev. Dr. David Zwifka. We have begun to formulate a process for an Individual Formation Plan which would be regularly updated by the person in discernment as they move through the ordination process. It would be reviewed by the Commission prior to our interviews so we may be better informed regarding specifics of their development. We continue to explore and clarify the process and competencies required for lay licensed ministry.

The following actions were taken by the Bishop since the 2021 Annual Convention:

Ordained to the Priesthood:	Kevin Barron (11/21/21) Jody Barthle (5/28/21) Bradley Mattson (5/21/21) Alyssa Pasternak Post (7/16/22)
Ordained to the Diaconate:	Ted Christopher (5/7/22) Martha Harris (5/7/22) Jennifer Trenary (8/13/22)
Accepted as Candidates:	Martha Ambrose Dina Ishler Kevin Lowe Chloe Selles Ryan Tobin Lisa Work

Respectfully submitted,

Ms. Mary Novello & The Rev. Barbara Hutchinson Vice Presidents of the Commission on Ministry