The Diocese of Central Pennsylvania Commission on Ministry Annual Report 10/1/2020 – 9/30/2021

The Commission on Ministry serves to provide advice and counsel to the Bishop on all matters pertaining to the ordination process. The Commission also assists the Bishop in the formation of those members of our diocese who are called to both lay and ordained ministries.

This year the Commission held a total of 23 interviews with 16 individuals.

The present membership of the Commission includes five priests, one deacon, and five lay persons. The Commission meetings are held monthly. The Commission also conducts a winter retreat in which all Postulants and Candidates participate. The Vice President of the Commission meets with the Bishop on a regular basis. Members of the Commission serve as "companions" for Postulants and Candidates as they make their way through the ordination process.

This year the Commission joined members of the Standing Committee and the staff of the Stevenson School for Ministry for a series of "Leadership Retreats." Discussion in these meetings developed the theological framework for lay and ordained ministry, focused on the changing roles of both ordained and lay leaders in today's church, and developed the processes through which men and women are prepared for these responsibilities. Our conversations resulted in the development of a discernment, formation, and commissioning process for lay licensed ministers per the canons of the Church (Lay Preacher, Lay Catechist, Lay Evangelist, Lay Pastoral Leader, Lay Worship Leader) and the streamlining of the process for ordained leaders.

The following actions were taken by the Bishop since the 2020's Annual Convention:

Ordained to the Priesthood: Allison Carnahan

Ordained to the Diaconate: Kevin Barron

Allison Carnahan

Accepted as Candidates: Martha Harris

Bradley Mattson

Accepted as Postulants: Martha Ambrose

Kathy Hettinga Dina Ishler Kevin Lowe Chloe Selles Ryan Tobin Jennifer Trenary Lisa Work

Respectfully submitted, Ms. Mary Novello

Vice President of the Commission on Ministry