2015 Annual Report Commission on Ministry The Diocese of Central Pennsylvania

The Commission on Ministry serves as a council of advice to the Bishop on matters relating to ordination and supports the formation of individuals for both lay and ordained ministry. Under the direction of Bishop Scanlan, the Commission has substantially redesigned the process for ordination in the diocese during this past year. A step-by-step outline of the process may now be found on the diocesan website. We have also worked to clarify the role of the Standing Committee in the ordination process and we have expanded the Commission's administrative functions.

The Commission meets monthly throughout the year and holds two annual events – a fall seminar for enquirers into the ordination process and a mid-winter retreat for postulants and candidates. We are also engaged in ongoing conversations with the Bishop regarding future needs of the diocese for both lay and ordained leadership and the appropriate means of forming those leaders

Under diocesan canons, the Bishop serves *ex officio* as President of the Commission on Ministry. As sometimes happens following the transition to a new bishop, there are currently an unusually large number of individuals in early discernment about calls to ordination. We continue to meet with these people and to work with the Stevenson School for Ministry in the early stages of discernment for each individual.

During this year, the Bishop appointed two new lay members to the Commission, Terri Johnsen (lay, Prince of Peace, Gettysburg) and Emmy Corey (lay, St. Stephen's, Harrisburg). The Commission thanks departing members Tom Stouffer, Emmy Corey (who is departing for graduate school) and The Rev. Chris Pyles for their faithful service. The commission for this past year has also included Kevin Barron, The Rev. Mary Kisner, The Rev. Wanda Kloza, The Rev. Fred Miller, Venerable Jane Miron, Sue Ellen Spotts, and The Rev. Dr. Herbert Sprouse, who serves as Vice-President (Chair).

The Commission also thanks the Bishop's Executive Secretary, Carolyn Patterson, and the Very Rev. Robyn Szoke-Coolidge, Dean of the Stevenson School, for their invaluable support and expertise.

The following actions were taken by the Bishop since the 2015 Annual Convention:

Ordinations: None

Other actions:

John Shirley: Candidate for Ordination (Priesthood) Kyle Murphy: Postulant for Ordination (Priesthood) Michael Nailor: Postulant for Ordination (Diaconate)

In total there are now seven people formally engaged in the process as postulants or candidates.

Respectfully submitted,

The Rev. Dr. Herbert Sprouse, Vice President For the Commission on Ministry